Senators, Governor, FTC & ACLU to Speak at Legislative Summit

Senators, Governor, FTC & ACLU to Speak at Legislative Summit

MEDIA ADVISORY from the Platte Institute

Contact: Adam Weinberg
(402) 500-0209

September 26: 2017 Platte Institute Legislative Summit
Gov. Ricketts, State Senators, FTC & ACLU-NE Leaders to Speak

WHO: Platte Institute staff and the following speakers and panelists:

  • Gov. Pete Ricketts
  • FTC Acting Chairman Maureen K. Ohlhausen (video remarks)
  • State Sen. Laura Ebke
  • State Sen. Curt Friesen
  • State Sen. John Lowe
  • State Sen. Mike McDonnell
  • State Sen. John Murante
  • State Sen. Jim Smith
  • State Sen. John Stinner
  • Katie Ambrogi, JD, Federal Trade Commission
  • Bo Botelho, Nebraska DHHS
  • James Broughel, Mercatus Center 
  • Dr. Dick Carpenter, Institute for Justice
  • Danielle Conrad, ACLU of Nebraska
  • Scott Drenkard, Tax Foundation
  • Wayne Hoffman, Idaho Freedom Foundation
  • Jonathan Williams, American Legislative Exchange Council

WHAT: The Platte Institute’s 2017 Legislative Summit. Program topics include occupational licensing reform, red tape regulation, personal property tax, and Financial Ready Nebraska, an inventory of federal funds in Nebraska’s state budget. The Platte Institute will also present the 2017 Connie Brown Freedom Award at the opening of the Legislative Summit.

WHEN & WHERE: Tuesday, September 26, 2017 from 8:15 a.m.-12 p.m. at the Embassy Suites Lincoln (1040 P Street, 68508), Regents Ballroom DEF. Program registration and breakfast begins at 7:30 a.m.

WHY: The Platte Institute hosts its Legislative Summit every fall. The event offer lawmakers, community leaders, and taxpayers a preview of policy solutions that can remove barriers to economic opportunity in the upcoming legislative session. Current legislative bills to be discussed at the Summit include LB299, the Occupational Board Reform Act, and LB611, the federal funds inventory.

DETAILS: Members of the media are welcome to attend. A complete program agenda is available at  

Event highlights: 

Presentation of the 2017 Connie Brown Freedom Award to Gail Werner-Robertson, 8:15 a.m.

Remarks by Gov. Pete Ricketts, 8:30 a.m. 

Video remarks by FTC Acting Chairman Maureen K. Ohlhausen, followed by a panel on Occupational Licensing Reform with staff from the Federal Trade Commission, ACLU of Nebraska, Institute for Justice, and State Sens. Ebke and Lowe, 8:45 a.m.

Panel on Personal Property Tax Reform and release of new policy brief on Nebraska's Personal Property Tax (release to follow), 10:30 a.m.

For more information, please contact Adam Weinberg at (402) 500-0209 or at

The Platte Institute advances policies that remove barriers to growth and opportunity in Nebraska.

Want more? Get stories like this delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you, we'll keep you informed!